honey-chipotle grilled corn.

This is actually the recipe that started me on the food blog path, and interestingly, it’s 100% not my own!!  The story is, one day, I was reading the food blog over at Cooking Light, and I read an entry about this recipe and how it is the best possible way to prepare corn, hands down.  I was totally pumped about this because I had actually purchased the ingredients to make this exact recipe just a few days before, without ever knowing that it would be discussed on Cooking Light.  After making the recipe, I commented on the blog about how great it was, which led the Cooking Light blog editors to click back over to my “life blog” where I blog about everything, food included.  They were very complimentary about my pictures, which made me think that I might be on to something.  So, I figured I would try out a content-focused food blog, and it seems to be doing pretty well!  Anyways, back to the recipe.  It really is awesome.  And I don’t even like corn.  But I LOVE this corn, and I bet you will too!

   Honey-Chipotle Grilled Corn

(adapted from Sunset magazine)

Ingredients

I would . . .

You could . . .

1 chipotle out of a can of chipotles in adobo sauce

 

1/3 c Smart Balance butter

1/3 c real butter

¼ c orange blossom honey

1/4 c any type of honey

1 garlic clove

 

¼ teaspoon of salt

 

Directions

1. Heat a charcoal or gas grill to medium-hot (you can hold your hand 1 to 2 in. above cooking grate only 3 to 4 seconds). Combine chiles, butter, honey, garlic, and salt in a blender and whirl until smooth.

2. Put unhusked corn on grill and cook, turning occasionally, 15 minutes. Husks will blacken. Transfer to a work surface, remove husks, brush ears generously with butter mixture, and return ears to grill. Grill until lightly browned, about 5 minutes. Serve warm, with remaining butter.

Sex It Up By:

 

Adding

Seriously, this is sexy enough.  No additions needed.

Calling it

Fresh Grilled Corn Basted in a Honeyed-Chipotle Butter

Cooking Tip:

Chipotles are pretty spicy peppers, and the best thing about this recipe is the sweet heat component.  To tone down some of the heat, you can try separating the seeds from the pepper, but if you’re not a “heat” person, you might want to try a different recipe!

There are no comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

